Resisting Beets and Other Spiritual Feats

Standard

“And he said to Him, ”Teacher, all these I have kept from my youth.”  And Jesus, looking at him, loved him, and said to him, “You lack one thing…”  Mark 10:20,21

Like the rich young ruler, I have a checklist of sins I haven’t committed.  I feel pretty smug about the things I resist (and judge those who don’t).   I don’t realize my fortitude has nothing to do with righteousness- it’s just some sins aren’t in my personal area of temptation. I may as well brag about my ability to resist a super-sized portion of beets.  But an In & Out burger- well, that’s another story!  Thank God He’s wise to my ways, and instead of a pat on the back, I get a loving laser focused on the “one thing I lack” perhaps known only to God.  In the young ruler’s life, possessions vied for Lordship.  What vies for Lordship in my life? In yours?  Count on God to “look upon you and love you” enough to expose it.  How will we respond?

Leave a Reply

