Christmas Presence

Standard

Wow. Settle down, dear heart.  My mind is like a swallow darting here and there, absorbed in Christmas presents and forgetting all about Christmas Presence- Emmanuel, God with me.  I’m chompin’ at the bit to be “done” with my quiet time.  Really.  How ludicrous is that?  So I did a word study on the following verse:

“Surely I have composed and quieted my soul.  Like a weaned child rests against its mother, my soul is like a weaned child within me.”  Ps.  131:2

Composed- to make level, smooth, still, set.

Quieted- silenced, stilled, die (as in die to all my crazy unnecessary Christmas projects)

Weaned- to deal fully with, amended, paid in full

Rest against- lean fully into, a state of rest, a position of leaning against the chest (able to hear the heartbeat of another).

Prince of Peace, may I set my heart firmly in You today, silencing all the voices tyrannizing my mind; May I die to the lusts of  Christmas.  For You have given Your grace-paid in full, amended all things concerning me today.  May I lean fully against You and listen for your quiet, steady heart that beats in love for this world.  

Leave a Reply

