Fear: the Gift that Keeps on Giving

Standard

Yeah, I woke up fretful again. I don’t know-maybe it’s just low blood sugar-but fretful about my kids; not the ones who don’t know Him, the ones who do.  Fretful that human philosophies and personal opinions will  supersede truth, yada,yada,yada ad infinitum. Stressed and distressed, Of course I prayed; and fretted about being fretful (fear: the gift that keeps on giving).  Then I read the Christmas account again, and found these two words in neon: FEAR NOT.  I suppose “a Savior has been born” should’ve shone brightest, but even the angels know that us humans can’t seem to grasp the greatest message until the obstacle of fear is addressed and dealt with. So “Fear not” to Mary, the angel said.  And “Fear not” to Joseph, too (more than once to him- I guess he was more a worrier than Mary).  “Fear not” to the shepherds.  And today, “Fear not” to me (quite a few times- I worry more than Joseph).  I’ve calmed down and oh yeah, now I remember- the Savior has been born.  All better. Comfort and Joy.

“…Because we trust in the living God, who is the Saviour of all men, specially of those that believe.”  1st Timothy 4:10

P.S.  There are over 365 references to “fear not” in the Bible?  That should get me through to next Christmas.  🙂

Leave a Reply

