The Garden

Standard

Sometimes my devotions are more like commotions.  My mind is the taxi driver in a New York traffic jam.  Reading through the gospel of John, I find a day of unequalled chaos and catastrophe:  Jesus- arrested, beaten and mocked- is shuffled from politician to politician, an irrational mob screaming, and finally, He’s dead.  And in the midst of all I hear a whispered statement in chapter 19:  “in the place where He was crucified, there was a garden…”  According to the Bible dictionary, gardens were often surrounded by a hedge of thorns or a wall of stone and situated as such, they were often used as places of communion with God. How apt.  Out of chaotic crucifixion, comes a garden of communion with God.  Jesus calmly sits, waiting for me to stop all the horn honking.

“My soul has heard you say, ‘Come and talk with me.’ My heart responds,”Lord I am coming!”  Psalm 27:8 

Have you walked in the garden today?

“Now in the place where he was crucified there was a garden…”  Jn. 19:41

Leave a Reply

