Thanks for Everything

Standard

Thanks For Everything

I was born with a bad attitude.  I slithered out of the womb with an ungrateful little heart.  I didn’t even think to thank God for my birthday suit.  Nor did I thank my mom for the prenatal heartburn, weight gain, and hemorrhoids she endured (a party compared to the angst I caused in my teen years).  And that little toilet training thing she did?  Now, that has really come in handy over the years.  But was I thankful?  Well, yes, actually I was-but not until I’d changed 42,240 diapers myself (8 kids x 5 diapers a day x 352 days x 3 years:).  All this to say, I could’ve done better in the gratitude department- both to my mom, and especially to the Lord.  Thankfully, there’s an effective cure for thankless wretches.

Gratitude is good for what ails us.  ‘Tis the season to be less-than-jolly with in-laws and out-laws looming close at hand.  The Great Physician orders an extra large dose of appreciation to cure all poor “I” conditions.

Thankfulness is a great beauty treatment, too.  Psalm 147 says that praise is becoming, i.e. beautiful. Think of the money saved: I don’t need Botox for full lips, just lips full of praise;   I don’t need a face or eye lift, I just need eyes lifted to the Maker of heaven and earth!   I don’t need makeup…well, actually I do; but you get the point.

Maybe I’m not the only one who needs to download an iThank app. to my heart in time for Thanksgiving -which, ya’ know-should be an everyday thing.

“Now, our God, we give you thanks, and praise your glorious name.” 1 Chronicles 29:13

How ‘bout you?  Start your daily devos with a specific praise for the day (read Psalms to jump-start your list).  Oh- and write someone a thank-you note.  

Thanksgiving-1

Leave a Reply

