Standard

A kid’s nursery rhyme goes like this:  “…and when she was good, she was very very good; but when she was bad, she was horrid.”  That pretty much sums up my personal M.O.- which would drive me to drink, except that I’m not alone in this.  I’m so over being amazed by my capacity for sin.  Years ago, I’d register SHOCK AND AWE at some of my shenanigans, first denying (Me??!!!), then justifying (I don’t know what got into me!).  Nowadays I just tell myself, “Well, whatdaya expect, you lousy little sinner?”  That’s not to say I’m not sorry.  In fact, shoveling the debris of pride clears the way for the kind of sorrow that brings real change.  The Bible says there’s two kinds of sorrow;  Worldly sorrow: “Aaaaack!!  I got caught and now everyone thinks I’m a sinner!” and Godly sorrow: “I AM a sinner, and God help me!”.  Like I said, I’m not alone in this.  Consider Peter:  “Thou art the Christ.” and five seconds later he merits from Jesus a “Get behind me Satan!”.  And Paul, “Oh WRETCHED man that I am!”

My mirror looks me straight in the eyes and says, “You’re a sneaky little dog.  Get over it.”  The question isn’t, “Doesn’t my ‘very, very good’ balance my ‘horrid’?”  But, “Who will rescue me from this body of death?”  Jesus bulldozed it all-the good, the bad and the ugly- on the cross. He’s the answer.

“God demonstrates His own love for us in this way, that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  Romans 5:8

 

Leave a Reply

