What a Drag

Standard

I’m a man in drag in my attempts to cover my sin by my own righteousness. Who am I fooling?  For sure, not God. My sin doesn’t shock Him.  He won’t take to His bed with a box of Kleenex and bottle of cheap wine. He knows what I am.  And I must agree with Him (which is the actual definition of confession). When I attempt to approach the throne of  God by my own righteousness, I imagine God leaning over to Jesus, (sniff, sniff) “What in tarnation is that smell?”  Living in Reality is this: “I have sinned.  I am sorry.  Please forgive me”. No buts.  No addendums.  And, as my husband John says, “The circle of our sin must be the circle of our confession”. In other words, I need to ask forgiveness to everyone I’ve tainted by my words or actions.  When all that dirty work is done, AHHHH-I sink into the deep tub of God’s cleansing and end up in soft white robe.  Rags to Riches. IT IS FINISHED.

“Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight.  Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give an account. Heb 4:13

“…and all our righteous acts are as filthy rags.”  Is. 64:6   

“Jesus said to the woman, ‘Your faith has saved you, go in peace.'”  Luke 7:8

 

 

Leave a Reply

