A Shocking Concept

Standard

Christians can be so annoying.  I wanna know where David went to church.  He says, “As for the saints who are on the earth, they are the excellent ones in whom is all my delight.” (Ps. 16:3)  This would be easier to swallow if he’d said, “As for the saints in heaven…” ‘cuz we all know some saints on this earth that aren’t so delightful;, in fact, some of ‘em just about get on my last nerve.  Looking at the definition of “excellent ones”gives me a clue to David’s reasoning.  “Excellent ones” actually means “superior ones”. If someone is superior, someone else is inferior.  Does David see himself as inferior?  Is this some sort of false humility? David had tremendous talents and abilities, and I think of him as a pretty honest guy. I don’t think he’s referring to ability, but rank.  David sees himself as inferior in rank-i.e. a servant.  What a novel idea. I am there to serve others.  That kinda changes everything, doesn’t it?

I command you to love each other in the same way that I love you.  (Jesus said that)  John 15:12  

I’m thinking that doesn’t mean love them  “only if they deserve it.”

 

Leave a Reply

