If you give a mouse a speaking engagement

Standard

I wonder if real speakers like- say, Billy Graham- prepare for a speaking engagement the way I do.  After gathering my Bible, notes and computer, I settle into the refrigerator, foraging for every edible morsel.  I weigh myself with the cake, to see how much I’ll gain if I eat the whole thing. Then I move onto the task at hand:  rearranging living room furniture.   What time is it?  Yikes!  I’ve gotta get serious! So I check my scalp for gray hairs and color them.  After redecorating me and my house, I freak out over my lack of preparation and acquire “distress in the lower tract”,  spend the remaining hours in the bathroom praying that someone will call and say, “Thank you very much, but we’ve  found someone less neurotic for our conference.”  But no. (Sigh) Why can’t someone else be the foolish thing of the world to confound the wise?  Lord, take my messes and make a message.

But God has chosen the foolish things (literally dull, stupid, blockhead, heedless, absurd ) of the world to put to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak (feeble, sick, without strength) things of the world to put to shame the things which are mighty;  1Co 1:27

 

Leave a Reply

