Witness? YIKES!

Standard

The word “witness” used to scare me to death.  I had an image of me in a skinny black tie, white dress shirt, a load of books and magazines, a bike and-horror of horrors!- knocking on a stranger’s door.  What freedom to know that being a witness is merely a natural outcome of loving Jesus.  Just as I have innumerable stories from living with eight children and a pastor-husband, I have innumerable stories of Jesus and me.  So here’s my witness for today:  Two nights ago I was driving home on a lonely street.  A man was walking in the middle of the street.  At first I thought he was drunk or had Alzhiemers, but he was walking deliberately toward me.  I swerve to the left and he jumped to the left; then to the right and again he jumped to get into my path.  By this time he was pretty close and I could see he was looking directly in my eyes with a very aggressive stare.  I got scared and started pressing buttons on the door, but instead of locking the door, I rolled the window down right in front of him!  With one more swerve, I stopped as he stood now in front of my car.  He was making his way to the passenger side.  I had one moment to decide-step on the gas and risk killing him, or allow him to get in.  A quick, “Help!!” prayer and I stepped on the gas, as soon as he moved to the side to get in.  In the moment I jerked forward, he had step aside to put his fist through my windshield so all that hit him was the windshield and the side mirror.  Later, the police found him and said he was acting very erratic, and they dealt with it from there- which probably included a cast on his right hand!   In hind sight, I realize I was praying the whole time.  Though the man was the focus of my eyes, the Lord was the focus of my heart.  The Lord spared me.  But if He hadn’t?  I’d still be His-maybe even in His presence.  So there ya have it:  “You shall be my witnesses…”  I’ve got lots more witnessing stories.  All of them say, I saw Jesus, I felt Him, I heard Him, I know Him.  

 This one who is life from God was shown to us, and we have seen him. And now we bear witness and announce to you that he is the one who is eternal life. He was with the Father, and then he was shown to us.We are telling you about what we ourselves have actually seen and heard…1John: 1,2

 

 

Leave a Reply

