Crystals, Auras and and Unknown God

Standard

I once spent a weekend in a small town known for it’s New Age “aura”.  It kinda creeped me out to walk past shops promising to alleviate pollution or insomnia by placing a crystal in the appropriate spot.  Then there were the essential oil classes, teaching how to use oils for divination, empowerment and opening my third-eye chakra (what the heck?).  Patchouli and I go way back- I love the stuff, but I’ve never thought of it as more than a funky fragrance.  I’m embarrassed to say witnessing in that town was the last thing on my mind.

In Acts 17, Paul goes to Athens, known for it’s multitude of idols. He doesn’t criticize their paganism, he compliments them for their religiosity, and springboards from there, finding an open entry for sharing the gospel: the monument “To the Unknown God”.

Back to New Ageville:  I could’ve done better.  Maybe I could have told the shop owner about the crystals around God’s throne from the book of Revelation.  I could have shared about the woman who anointed Jesus’ feet with essential oil and why she did it.  I could’ve connected them to the Bible and pointed the way to “The Unknown Power” of Jesus Christ.

“Then Paul stood in the midst of the Areopagus and said, ‘Men of Athens, I perceive that in all things you are very religious.'”ACTS 17:22

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

