Playing Fast and Loose

Standard

I had a really difficult week:  First I had a flu, and then I had a teenager.  So today I did the only reasonable thing one does when one is going through a bad time:  I fasted…except for a trip to Cold Stone to get their totally awesome Sinless Sans Fat ice cream with black cherries mixed in.  But that doesn’t count because ice cream is nothing but fat and sugar, so if it lacks those two ingredients it’s really nothing, right?  And black cherries are a fruit and if I’d blended it first (which is what will happen once it’s in my stomach), it would be juice which is allowed on some fasts.  And the sugar in the black cherries had absolutely no nutrition, so I’m good there.  I also had a few handfuls of Cheez-Its.  But that wasn’t breaking my fast-I didn’t look at them while I ate them, and each one is so small I swallowed them whole, and though I did inhale, I didn’t chew.  So-yeah- I fasted today and Boy do I feel spiritual.  So I guess I can break my fast in time for dinner, which is great because I am absolutely starving after all that not eating. I just love not eating.  Hey-I think I’ll fast again tomorrow (I want to try another flavor of Sinless Sans Fat).

“Would you call this a fast, and an acceptable day to the LORD?  Is this not the fast that I have chosen: To loose the bonds of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, to let the oppressed go free, and that you break every yoke?”  Isaiah 58:5,6

One response »

Leave a Reply

