Aside


IMG_0001

It’s not that I don’t want to lose  weight, it’s just that I forget I want to lose weight when:

1.  My day begins.

2.  My day ends.

3.  I’m hungry.

4.   I’m not hungry, but there’s an open bag of peanut m&m’s staring me in the face.

5.  I go out to eat with friends.

6.  I’m celebrating life all by myself (aren’t we supposed to celebrate everyday?).

7.  I watch a skinny person eat a large piece of cheesecake.

8.  I’m mad, hurt, sad, frustrated, stressed, happy, bored, overwhelmed, avoiding a task, scared, worried, anxious or upset.

9.   I want to reward myself for losing weight.

10. I want to punish myself for gaining weight.

If I’m going to fail, I want to fail passively. Overt sabotage would demand taking responsibility.  I like forgetting. It’s not deliberate, it can’t be helped,  I can’t be blamed; I just FORGOT.  Or so it seems…until I consider this:

Beware that thou forget not the LORD thy God, in not keeping his commandments, and his judgments, and his statutes, which I command thee this day…”  (Deut. 8:1)

“Beware” means take care, be careful, watch, stay on guard-  these are not passive phrases.

“Well, yes but let’s not mix the spiritual with the carnal,” I say, eyeing the plate of nachos.

“Besides, that’s the Old Testament, I’m not under the law.” I add.

“Don’t talk with your mouth full,” says the Still Small Voice, “And if you read the whole chapter, you’ll see it references food and eating.”

Suddenly I’m all about the New Testament- except for the verses that say  honor God with my body, and offer it as a living sacrifice in an act of worship.  Oh- and anything that smacks of self-control.

But I love the verses that says, “Take and Eat.”

Am I allowed to pick and choose which of God’s commands I conveniently and “passively” forget?  Only if I’m content to have a convenient and passive faith in the Lord.

Just like every other thing I need to remember, it helps to write it down.  Write down the verses, write down my goals, write how I’ll get there. That’s what I’m doing here.

So, today I’ll remember not to forget. Before the (nacho) chips are down.

Before the Chips are Down

Leave a Reply

