Aside

images

I’m a sucker for crazy.  Put me in close proximity to someone who lives in chaos and I soon join them.  Simple communication becomes anything but, and pretty soon I find myself wondering, “Is it me?”  Well, maybe it is me, because truth be told, I’m just a leetle bit crazier than I’d like to admit (and c’mon, so are you). I must take honest inventory of my own lunacy. Am I a button pusher? An enabler? Probably, and I need to own it and repent- or to put it in high liturgical terms- Stop It, just STOP IT.

I’m not clinically qualified in any way, unless clinical insanity qualifies me, but I’ve noticed fixated, addicted, and otherwise obsessive people want to do the Vulcan mind meld with me. I can resist by remembering this fact: Crazy people want me to join their Crazy Club.

David was in such a relationship with Saul. Saul loved David-at least he did this morning at breakfast, but now it’s lunchtime and Saul is having a bit of trouble keeping his steak knife to himself. David ala King is on the menu. I wonder if David agonized as I do, “It can’t be Saul- He’s the King, for heaven’s sake- it must be me.” David discovered the key to dealing with Saul: Do not let the crazy person be your plumb line; take your cues from the Almighty Sane One.

“Give yourself completely to God and keep on keepin’ on” (1 Cor. 15:58, sort of). When I look to God, He highlights where I must change, or let go, or love; and then I must stand, not allowing myself to be moved by chaotic thinking. When I’m tempted to react I can hear the Lord command in His God-as-Dog-Trainer voice: “Leave it.”

Eventually, David came to a very sane conclusion when he said to Saul (1 Sam.24),
“May the Lord judge between you and me…but my hand will not touch you.”

Note to self: Go and do likewise: Pray, obey and stay out of the fray.

Hopefully now you’ll know what to do when I invite you to join my club.

A Little Crazy Help

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

