Aside

Thankfully, God honors baby steps, because though I should be pondering His resurrection from the dead, I’m asking Him this morning to resurrect me from the bed- which can be the bigger challenge, because Jesus got up the first time His Father told Him to, but I don’t. When we get to heaven, maybe we’ll discover that God made plants on the third day and mankind on the sixth, because He knew “Let there be coffee!” was going to make His job a bit easier. So, Lord, Thank you for getting the coffee ready way back then. Resurrect me from the bed- help me get up today not with sighing, but with quiet (albeit sleepy) confidence that You meet me as you did Adam, “in the cool of the day” (Genesis 3:8). Don’t let me hide when You invite me to sit and talk over a steaming cup of salvation. And then, resurrect me from the dead. Help me obey your command to “Leave it! Come forth from the tomb of SELF- and follow Me.” 
“My heart has heard You say, ‘Come and talk with Me.’ And my heart responds, ‘Lord, I am coming.’” Psalm 27:8 
Thank you for the Resurrection-then, and now.

Leave a Reply

