Facing TIme with FaceTime

Standard

I am shocked by the detestable images that pop up on my computer screen.  For instance, just today while I was looking for a recipe, I accidentally hit the FaceTime button and up popped a hideous image of me at one hundred and thirty-five years old.  Oh. My. Gosh. Something must be done about the lighting in this kitchen.  Like let’s just put room- darkening drapes over every window.  And my head. 

 Growing old gracefully is overrated.  And also a lie.  No one has ever left fish in the nice, cool fridge for two weeks and then said, “This fish has grown old gracefully.”  No, they say, what the heck is this stinkin’ thing doing here?  Which is pretty much what I said to my computer screen today.  I mean, this just isn’t fair.  I’ve lost weight this year, and I have every right to expect to look like a famous movie star- so you can imagine my disappointment when the star I most resemble turns out to be Gollum.  Oh wait- I almost forgot that I’m writing something spiritual here.  Okay- well, the bad news is, I’m getting very old, the good news is, I’m dying.  And by that I mean, a new and improved me is on the way.  

1st Corinthians 15 says, we don’t know what we’ll look like because this body we have is like a seed and only when it’s put in the ground will our new body emerge.  Just like an acorn doesn’t much resemble the spreading, majestic oak tree, our body doesn’t much resemble what it will be- although parts of me do seem to be getting a jump-start on the spreading thing. The problem is, I’m like a baby in the womb who’s looking at the dark tunnel ahead and thinking, “I don’t wanna go through this- and besides, how can I be sure there’s life after birth?”  God knows this about us, and so He sent Jesus to prepare us.  Jesus said,  “Don’t let your hearts be troubled.  Trust in God, and trust also in Me.  There’s more than enough room in my Father’s home.  If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to  prepare a place for you? When everything is ready I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me…”  John 14:1-3 (NLT)  

Which means, I can face time- and the changes that come with its passing, knowing that Jesus will be with me when I hear the call, “Laura, party of two, your table is ready…”

Leave a Reply

