NOW You Tell Me

Standard

I imagine the ceilings of hell will be plastered with these words:  “If Only_______”  Those souls attempting to lie down and rest will be tormented by all the regrets of this life.  “If only I had chosen differently….”   “If only I hadn’t…”  In fact, I sometimes find myself experiencing a little bit of hell right here on earth.  I should’ve been a better mother/wife/Christian/teacher/cook…ad infinitum.  

Years ago, I was talking to a young woman haunted by guilt and regret.  She said, “I made such stupid choices, and now I’ll never be able to live in the perfect will of God.” I asked her, “Do you love God today?  Are you willing to do the very next thing He tells you to do?  If so, then you are in His perfect will today.”  God’s grace works backwards as well as forward (and today). Like syrup over waffles, his mercy fills ever high and low place, and every hole in between, if we will be His today.  So the next time the devil jabs you with the pitch-fork of “If Only…” snatch it from him and use it to roast marshmallows at the campfire of the One who says, ALL THINGS work together for good, to those who love God and are called according to His purposes.  

Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also praying for us. Romans 8:34

 No matter what your yesterday, NOW is the day of His grace, NOW is the day of salvation.  

2 Cor. 6:2

2 responses »

  1. I so needed to hear/read this today. Thank you for being a willing vessel. You are so beautiful, inside and out.

Leave a Reply

