Marley and Me

Standard

I just might get myself in trouble here, but what else is new? Actually, the people that might disapprove are already in heaven (Hi Dad, Hi Mom).
I love Bob Marley’s music (Don’t Worry, About a Thing…) and his general thoughts on material wealth, oh-and dreadlocks- I’d have those if my hair wasn’t as straight as a stick. Think of it: Never having a bad hair day because every day hair would be bad. But Bob and I part ways in the cannabis department. The only pot smoking around here is the one full of pinto beans, sitting on the way-too-hot burner.
And Rastafarian religious dogma is way out there- I mean, according to the local authority (my son Tim), Marley died of a toe infection, a toe infection -due to anti-doctor beliefs. I could never buy into that. Because of flip-flops. I stub my toes way too often for that nonsense. I’d be dead way before now. Thankfully, Jesus doesn’t make me trade soles to save my soul.
But the general attitude of a Rastafarian is “whatever floats your boat,” so with that in mind, I think I’m a Raftafarian. My life raft is Jesus Christ. He not only floats my boat, He is my boat; the Boat no rough waters or changing tides can thwart as I float safely across to that other shore. Like this:
Christ suffered for our sins once for all time. He never sinned, but he died for sinners to bring you safely home to God. 1st Peter 3:18
They will pass safely through the sea of distress, for the waves of the sea will be held back. Zech. 10:11
What’s more, God in his goodness has granted safety to everyone sailing with you.’ Acts 27:24
Now might be a really good time to consider what floats your boat or Who, before you stub your toe or something. Consider this a formal invitation to join the Raftafarians.
As an insignificant side note-and I may be really wrong on this- I think God just might wear dreads:
“I watched as thrones were put in place and the Ancient One sat down to judge. His clothing was as white as snow, his hair like purest wool.” Daniel 7:9

Leave a Reply

