Rule Number 312

Standard

Don’t lick the bottom of your shoes.
You can tell what age I teach by my classroom rules. I try to keep things simple, but each year I forget to mention a thing or two. In any case, once in awhile, I have a student who’s goal in life is to see just how many rules can be broken. This little guy thinks I don’t see the legos slipped into a pocket, a horn snapped off the plastic triceratops (biceratops?), or the puzzle pieces forced through the wall heater vent.
I have a special affinity for little rascals. I know what it is to be a sinner. So I try to encourage, go over rules and consequences, and give elaborate high-fives for any move in the right direction. But if they are bent on destruction, I limit their access to activities (and legos). They’re not aware of my covert removal of freedoms. They think they run with the pack.
Psalm 94 speaks of those who think God does not see. Lightening hasn’t struck, so they persist in rebellion, keeping one eye on the sky, not realizing God is engineering damage control, safeguarding the legos- and them. They are free agents in rebellion, but not in life.
To think I hide my sin from God is like dressing in drag. I may fool some of the people some of the time (though not nearly as many as I think), but I’ll never fool God. God does see. His heart is especially tender to the rascals; His eye is on the Jack Sparrow, and I know He watches me.

They say, “The Lord does not see; the God of Jacob pays no heed.” …Does He who formed the eye not see? …The Lord knows the thoughts of man; He knows they are futile. …Blessed is the man you discipline, O Lord, the man you teach from your law, you grant him relief from days of trouble… for the Lord will not reject His people, He will never forsake His inheritance.
(Read it in complete form in Psalm 94:7-15)

Leave a Reply

