Well Well

Standard

Well, Well
Morning sickness meant I started each day hugging the toilet. The kids would come into the bathroom, lean down near my head in the hole, pat my back and say, “ What’s for breakfast?” I hated morning sickness.
But I loved the flu. It meant staying in bed. Sadly, I have a strong immune system; but on rare occasions when I woke with fever, my husband John, eyeing six or seven hungry kids, and not knowing for sure where we kept the refrigerator, would lug a gallon of olive oil up to our room, anoint me and offer the “fervent prayer of a righteous man,” for my healing. I prayed silently with him,
“God, don’t listen to him. I wanna staying right here in bed for the next ten years.”
Jesus asked a paralyzed man in John 5:6, “Do you want to be made well?” What an odd question. I guess Jesus had seen the likes of me before. The paralytic doesn’t answer with “Yes, Lord!” Instead, he states why he can’t be well: he has no one to help him and others got in his way.
Sometimes I feel unable to walk the path God has set for me; to walk in love, to forgive, or to act upon whatever it is He calls me to do. There are perks to being unwell. I get to be the victim, I can play the blame game. Being whole costs. I’ll have to find new friends because all my supportive co-dependents won’t want to play with me anymore. They may even try to sabotage my wellness. And, I’ll need to take responsibility for myself; get a job, get a life…
“Get up…” Jesus says to the paralytic. He breezes right past excuses and tells him to act; take the first step. Then tells us to do the very next thing,
“‘Pick up your mat and walk.‘ and immediately the man was healed and he picked up his mat and walked.” Sometimes we expect voodoo, but the Lord says, “YOU do.” And then He works the miracle.
Jesus has given us everything we need for life and godliness, so -no matter what path He’s chosen for us, we can get up, make our bed, and walk.
Read John 5:6-9; 2 Peter 1:3, James 5:14-16

Leave a Reply

