The Other Word

Standard

Others make me uncomfortable. I want to squirm, hide, and run. I’m talking about the Others mentioned in the last part of Hebrews 11; right after the list of those who “…received promises, stopped the mouths of lions (vs. 33), quenched fires, escaped the sword, overcame weakness (vs. 34) …and women who received their dead back to life. Others were tortured (vs 35)…” Stop- right there- THOSE others, others who were tortured, written in small print- not in my Bible, but certainly in my heart; who were also mocked, beaten, held in chains, imprisoned, stoned to death, cut in two, tempted, slain, destitute, afflicted, tormented… These Others, who do not experience healing, deliverance or any sense of victory- these are the ones who need us today. These are the others we are to “Do unto” what we’d want done if we were in their bed, their prison.
I’m saying this by way of confession. At the beginning of the new year, when I asked the Lord what He’d have me do this year, the word “Others” in this chapter stood out in neon. Every day since, though I’ve tried to dissuade that Still Small Voice by calling attention to my list of more tasteful tasks, the message has remained the same: “Delete Selfie, exchange for Others”.

“God had a better plan for us: that their faith and our faith would come together to make one complete whole, their lives of faith not complete apart from ours.” Hebrews 11:40

Leave a Reply

