If the Shoe Fits

Standard

In the story of Cinderella, the wicked step-sister coerces and crushes her super-sized foot into the glass slipper, striving to win the “prince”- that guy in baby blue designer tights. No accounting for some people’s taste.

But I can relate to the striving. Sometimes I want something so badly, I attempt to force my square-peg craving into the round hole of God’s will. I go at it from every angle; bargaining, justifying, promising to glorify Him with this shiny trinket, offering smoke-screen sacrifices on the altar of my desire.
 I ignore the voice saying,

“Laura, this just isn’t a good fit for you…”. 


Sometimes, through sheer determination, I manage to MAKE the shoe fit.


“Yes…I see that…” 
the Lord whispers, “…But can you WALK in it.”


He waits, watching my spiritual gymnastics, knowing I’ll eventually hobble over to Him with,

“Um…can you help me get this OFF?”


He exchanges it for a custom made one: flexible, with firm support and a soft-in-her-soul quality.


If the shoe fits, wear it; life’s too short and the road’s too hard for walking in anything other than His will. 


I have the bunions to prove it.


“And your ears shall hear a word behind you saying, ‘This is the way, walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

Leave a Reply

