What’s Inside

Standard

My mom kept her “good” jewelry in cereal boxes. It was an outstanding hiding place. So great, in fact, my sisters found themselves out standing by the trash cans, digging through garbage to reclaim those boxes after surprising mom by “helping” her clean out her pantry.

IT’S NOT MY FAULT! Those boxes were three years past the expiration date! The boxes were pretty heavy, but I figured the raisins in the bran had petrified to stone. Anyway, this reminds me of the verse in Second Corinthians 4:7:


“We have this treasure in earthen vessels that this exceedingly great power may be known to come from God and not ourselves.”


In other words, anything good in me, comes from God. Ask my sisters. They are the only ones who knew me when and know me now, and I’m certain there are times they’d like to toss me out, because even though I have the Spirit of God living in me, that wasn’t always the case, and besides-there’s still that issue of the cereal box – that earthen vessel, to contend with.


Most of us were no better than fodder for the landfill before Jesus came along. By “most”, I mean me, and by “landfill”, I mean hell. In fact, one of the names for hell is Gehenna, located south of Jerusalem,which was the city dump and outdoor crematorium of sorts for every kind of decomposing and detestable thing.
 Then Jesus, the original Expert on energy renewal and “Go Green” Guy, dumpster-dived and recycled me. 
I’m still just a cereal box – expiration date to be announced-but I have a better-than-bling treasure in me.

That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. ( 2 Corinthians 4:16)

Put on your new nature, and be renewed as you learn to know your Creator and become like him. (Colossians 3:10)

Leave a Reply

