It’s the Little Things That Count

Standard

I was cleaning the windowsill when I noticed them. Little flying-ant things. They looked harmless, so I wiped them away.
We discovered much later I’d witnessed rebel-force destroyers flying reconnaissance to devour another of our basement wood beams.
While I stood back admiring my clean windows.
I can be just as oblivious to erosion in the foundations of my faith and relationships. Slivers of disobedience, sawdust of critical and worrisome attitudes, particles of pride and curled shavings of unforgiveness -for others and myself, all add up to what comes naturally: ruin. 
In the vineyards of Solomon’s day were nocturnal creatures that nibbled at the roots of the vines. Blossoms promised a future harvest. All was well, or seemed so, until picnickers discovered the foxes had picnicked first, toppling the age-old vines. 
I’m reminded- and warned, that what seems a Given, must be given to; and daily tended. 
Jesus, You are the ultimate in pest control. Help me test and exterminate all that would terminate my love for You.

“Catch for us the foxes, the little foxes that ruin the vineyards, our vineyards that are in bloom.” Songs of Solomon 2:15

Leave a Reply

