Duck, Duck, Peace.

Standard

Apparently, I enjoy herding ducks. I’m delusional in thinking all my ducks in a row will bring peace. So I arrange, rearrange, chase, grab and shout, “Hey you!  Get back in line!”

I picture Jesus watching, amused; and eventually turning to go, saying over His shoulder,

“Shoot the ducks. And come… follow me.”

But I know what He’s up to.  He wants to work in me a peaceful heart.  I don’t WANT a peaceful heart, I want peaceful circumstances, because a peaceful heart means I have to change, yield, surrender…and shoot the ducks.

I rant, “GIVE ME MY DUCKS!  I fuss, fume and finally whimper a pathetic swan song, “Must…Have…Ducks…”

Ironically, Jesus doesn’t get His feathers all ruffled when His duck goes astray. He waits, knowing I’ll eventually figure it out.  Figure out that there is no peace apart from following the Prince of Peace.

“You can’t change circumstances, and you can’t change other people, but God can change you”.  Evelyn Thiessen

He Himself is our peace.  Eph. 2:14

…For He will speak peace to His people…   Psalm 85:8

These things I’ve spoken to you so that in Me you might have peace, in the world you will have trouble, but be of good cheer for I have overcome the world.  John 16:33

Leave a Reply

