That Thing Called Love

Standard

“This love of which I speak is slow to lose patience – it looks for a way of being constructive.”
1 Cor. 13:4 (Phillips translation) Lord, help me to love the ones I don’t naturally like. Show me “the least of these”-the one least in my heart- the annoying one, the cheese-grater-on-my-skin one. And don’t let me turn them into some sort of spiritual project, but to look for ways to build them up (the literal meaning of “constructive”), not with flattery, but in truth and friendship. You say when I love THAT one, I’m really loving You (Matt. 25:40). All this to say, I need Your Holy Spirit, or I’ll be stuck in my prejudices of looks, personality, values, and lifestyle, and all my other stinkin’ bad attitudes. Thank you that You can’t wait to answer this one for me. In Jesus’ Name.

Leave a Reply

