Body Heat

Standard

Feeling chilled and achy this morning, I held my hands over the stove. The warmth was such a comfort, I sort of wanted to roll my whole body over the burner, but the image of that came to mind and I thought better of it. I did thank God for the luxury of heat, though, as I lingered there.  I had nothing to do with the warmth. I merely went to the source. So it is with all consolations. There is no good thing in me-it is Christ alone. I do not need to “muster up” comfort, I need to go to the Source. Then, when I’ve been warmed, I can place my hands on another, and comfort them. I often assume that is enough, but the comfort I bring is temporary-my hands will lose their warmth, unless I am a conduit of The Eternal Source of Comfort, Christ Alone.  

  Lord, may I not be content merely to be comforted, but to take the hand of another and together hold Yours. 

***************

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 2 Cor. 1:3,4

Leave a Reply

