Confessions of a Wimpy Christian

Standard

Being raised Catholic, I memorized prayers for every occasion. The Hail Mary, which, contrary to the beliefs of some of my sports-minded friends, has nothing to do with football, but does have something to do with underwear: “…and blessed is the Fruit of the Loom, Jesus…” Or at least it did- until I was corrected, “Ohhhhh, It’s ‘…fruit of thy WOMB, Jesus’.” I didn’t even know Jesus had a womb. And then at age seven I learned, “The Act of Contrition”, which begins with “OMG I am hardly sorry for having offended Thee…” The phrase is actually, “I am HEARTILY sorry….” but I think my version more aptly described my own wicked little heart at that age. Now, as an adult, I’ve “put away childish things,” but I do have a time-worn liturgical prayer I use often. I realize we are not to rely on rote religious recitations (Matthew 6:7) but I have found this is a prayer God always answers. It goes like this: “Help, help, helphelphelphelphelp…” This word is used 117 times in the Bible, not all at once, of course, but David used it a lot. Psalm 31:22 “In panic I cried out, ‘I am cut off from the LORD!’ But you heard my cry for mercy and answered my call for help.” Thank you Lord, for hearing the simple cry of this child.
“My help comes from the Lord, Maker of heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:2

Leave a Reply

